Curriculum Overview

Al Arqam Academy is an international school following Islamic beliefs and ethos. Pupils are aged 3 to 17 years from Pre-school to Year 12.

The school focuses on providing high quality learning opportunities that incorporate an understanding of individual learning styles. We are fortunate in having a very wide range of cultures and nationalities in our student and teaching bodies, with representatives from different countries.

Al Arqam Academy has adapted and enhanced the framework of the National Curriculum for England to meet the needs of our students. Students attend weekly lessons in all of the core areas plus classes in Art, ICT and PE. This ensures international standards are met by incorporating the best practices in teaching and learning with our values. Robotics and Scientific Research is part of the academic program in the Secondary school and an extra-curricular activity in Primary.

Al Arqam Academy follows a special Islamic Studies programme that was designed especially for the school in accordance with the requirements of the Supreme Education Council and our values. The Arabic programme is paramount and meets and exceeds the requirements set by the Supreme Education Council for international schools in Qatar. Quran is taught with the goal of developing students’ capacity for memorization, proper pronunciation and enthusiasm for learning. Additionally, students also learn about the history and important facts about the region in their Arabic Humanities classes. Important skills such as goal setting, planning and self-evaluation are taught in a weekly Life Skills lesson.

Key stages

The National Curriculum for England divides pupils into Key Stages of learning, which correspond to the following years:

Stage Year Test/ Qualifications
Foundation KG 1

Foundation Stage Profile

KG 2
Key Stage 1 Year 1

UK tests and tasks in English and Maths additional to internal assessments 

Year 2

Key Stage 2

Year 3

Optional tests additional to internal assessments

Year 4
Year 5
Year 6
Key Stage 3 Year 7

Optional tests additional to internal assessments

Year 8

Optional tests additional to internal assessments

Year 9

Check point and internal assessments

Key Stage 4 Year 10 Internal assessments
Year 11 IGCSE exams
Year 12 AS exams